Cowardly Theoretical Perseus

Cowardly Theoretical Perseus

On paper,

I create mathematical models,

which describe fluid flows,

which look like black holes,

which are dual to field theories,

which are kind of like QCD.

I am, in essence,

Looking at a shadow

of a model

of a reflection

of something that looks almost like

Medusa.

Hero that I am.

[I’m afraid the inherent ridiculousness of my master’s thesis project has caught-up with me. I do apologize for the shittiness of this poem, even by my usual standards. The truth is that I’m still in the process of getting the poetical machinery of my brain fired-up after a long dormancy. I had cause to speak to a literature major this evening, and she reminded me of how much happier I am when I write poetry regularly, so I am trying to get back into the habit]

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cowardly Theoretical Perseus

  1. Lindsay says:

    So I’m not going to say anything about the formal aspects of this poem, or the language, but I do really, really like the image of the theoretical physicist and her models as Perseus and his reflective shield. It’s not a likeness that would’ve ever occurred to me, but now that you mention it, yes, they are alike.

    Is Athena helping you very much?

Leave a comment