Useless Little Questions

I don’t like macaroni and cheese; I just don’t.

I find it impossible, once it is in my mouth, to force myself to swallow. If a single noodle somehow manages (I can only assume through quantum mechanical tunnelling, because the trajectory is classically impossible) to worm its way into my gullet, I am immediately caused to gag. I cannot tell you precisely why I find this foodstuff so vile; I’d say it’s the texture (which is decidedly slug-like) if it weren’t for the fact that even looking at a pot of the things makes me suddenly, unaccountably, feel physically ill. Perhaps I was drowned to death in a vat of Kraft Dinner in a past life.

In any case, the reason that I’m bringing it up now is just to underscore the fact that, when someone tells you that they find something to be disgusting, there’s really absolutely no point in asking them why they feel that way. They just do.  I’m not even sure I would call disgust an emotion; it seems to be more physiological (like hunger) than anything else. Someone’s feelings of disgust are purely irrational; a few moments of intellectual reflection upon them will do nothing to negate them; nor will a day or a year.

In my view, we should treat disgust the way that we treat love. That is to say, if someone tells you that they are in love with someone else, no matter what your personal feelings about the object of their affection, it is appropriate to respect their opinion on this matter. Likewise if someone tells you that they find something disgusting, you should recognize that convincing them otherwise would be a waste of time and energy.

At the same time, however, we should recognize that the inherent subjectivity of these considerations make them a poor bases for moral or political calculus. I am disgusted by Kraft Dinner, therefore I shall not eat Kraft Dinner. What I will not do, however, is seek to ban it and subject people who like it to involuntary corrective therapies.

By the same token, I have utterly given up on trying to convince certain people that my “lifestyle” is not disgusting; I look forward to watching them shower me with the same consideration that I show to Kraft Dinner-eaters.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Useless Little Questions

  1. Pingback: Sunday Link Encyclopedia and Self-Promotion « Clarissa's Blog

  2. Do you hate all macaroni and cheese? Or just the Kraft type – the cheap, boxed stuff? Idle curiosity. For some weird reason I find myself wondering if a gourmet smoked Gouda macaroni dish would elicit the same response as a pot of Kraft mac n cheese.

Leave a Reply

