Resolutions

Well, 2013 has come and gone, and I seem to be the only person in my social circle who actually enjoyed it. I defended my thesis, graduated from my Master’s Program, won a fat scholarship from an Agency of some great note, went to Europe, figured-out what I wanted to do with my life, and outperformed a hundred literal rocket scientists*. It doesn’t even matter that I finished it off with four months of boredom, isolation and unemployment, it’s still easily one of the best years I’ve ever had. I hope that everyone else will have a 2014 as good as my 2013, and that my 2014 will be even better.

Now: when it comes to New Years, it is usually customary to make some resolutions about self-improvement. This year, I have two: the first is my embarrassingly perennial vow to publish a story**; the second, more critical resolution is to  find a source of income. My life has been in a state of suspended animation since I returned to Canada, and literally everything else that I want to do is contingent upon my having the money to do it. Once I get that money, maybe then I can focus on the longer term.

_______________________________________

*I did not, unfortunately, manage to publish a work of fiction, but we will see about this year.

**My main problem is that I don’t like typing; I have dozens of perfectly good stories sitting around in a format that I cannot submit. My only enemy is laziness.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

