Selling Out

A recent comment by reader elizabethrosetransgirl has reminded me that I need not be overly concerned about my employment prospects in the long run:

I think the influence of miscontrued ideas about quantum mechanics on spirituality would be interesting. Quantum mechanics seems sufficiently mysterious and strange that it often gets pulled out to justify religious or spiritual beliefs. In general I think the degree to which people treat quantum mechanics as a synonym for magic is incredibly interesting.

It’s comforting to remember that if worst comes to worst, a physicist can make a pretty comfortable living by selling-out and writing books about how quantum mechanics supports New Age spiritualism. I think I will try saying that death is a step potential and ghosts are a reflected component of “soul wave functions.”

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Physics, Science and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Selling Out

  1. You could also write a parody of quantum spiritualism and see how many people mistake it for the real thing.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Or you could write a book for laypeople debunking such nonsense — Philip Plait seems to have done well (20,000 copies sold, is the figure I can find) with his book doing that sort of thing for his field, astronomy …

Leave a Reply

