The Continued Sucktitude of the Globe and Mail

I gave up on reading the Toronto Globe and Mail a year and a half ago as I was disgusted by their simpering apologetics for the HarperCons 2011 electoral fraud, and I can not honestly say that I have missed reading this overpriced fish-wrapper even once since then. My feelings of repulsion have only increased in the interim as a matter of fact, with the publisher’s decision to retain the professional right-wing twit known as Margaret Wente, even in the face of indisputable proof of her serial plagiarism*.

Nevertheless, I’m friends with a retired American History professor over facebook, and, as he is possessed of a rather more conservative bent than myself, he regularly links articles from the Globe and Mail. I don’t usually click on them, but occasionally there will be one with a sufficiently interesting or provocative title for me to break my taboo. What I’ve found, though, is that in the past year, the Globe and Mail has changed its business model to the point that several articles are hidden behind a pay wall. This would be fine, except the actual quality of these articles is just as low as it was a year and a half ago. And what makes it even funnier is the columnists that they’ve decided deserve to be hidden behind a paywall: people like John Ibbitson and Jeffrey Simpson. Reading these columns seems bad enough, but being asked to pay money for the privilege of reading these columns is practically a personal insult.

________________________________________________

*Seriously, this woman is paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to make rich, conservative baby-boomers feel like gods, and she can’t even do that without ripping off better writers. I can’t even call her a hack as I feel that this would be an insult to hackery. It’s particularly insulting in view of her constant attacks on academia; if Wente was an academic, she’d be out on the street in disgrace.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Continued Sucktitude of the Globe and Mail

  1. Lindsay says:

    To be fair, I would find it a near-Herculean task to write something that made rich, conservative baby boomers feel like gods. (Assuming they weren’t feeling like gods going in — if that’s the case, I could just write about cats. Or the weather — no, I’d have to insult rich, conservative baby boomers if I wrote about the weather. Cats it is, then.)

Leave a Reply

