The Cybelene Victorious

They want for you to kneel bowed and broken

To Accept their insights that you are falsely made

They want for you to cower, quiver, quaver

To dodge their righteous, rightful, mocking gaze.

They want for you to duck among the shadows;

The damned demand you hide yourself in shame

They deny your true existence, or insult it

They impugn each day your nature and your name.

But I will not allow for them to beat me down,

And I will look them deadly in their eyes

For I am neither freak, nor joke, nor fetish

And by Castina on her throne they’ll rue their lies.

They laugh at me and call me just a “tranny.”

But I have the heart and stomach of a Queen

And I have a mind that they can only envy:

I shall stand Victorious Cybelene!

[[I’m sure the Classical allusions are all fucked up somehow. Also, thanks to Elizabethrosetransgirl (and subsequently Queen Elizabeth I) from whom I borrowed the “heart and stomach of a Queen” line; sorry for sticking it in such an amateurish work]]

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Cybelene Victorious

  1. No need to apologize, both because I like amateur poetry, and also the poem I used it in was my first spoken word poem and as such quite amateur itself.

  2. Lindsay says:

    I’d never heard of Venus Castina before!

    Hadn’t known much about Cybele, either … I’d heard of her, but couldn’t have told you much about her, and I definitely didn’t know anything about her priesthood.

    Very interesting!

  3. ChrisCQC says:

    Been reading Catullus lately?

Leave a Reply

