On the Loss of Dignity

There is simply no way to maintain your dignity when unemployed for a prolonged period. Not in this society, at any rate.

I had hoped that I wouldn’t have to learn this first hand, but it’s too late for that now. Two and half months of job-hunting have landed me squat. I have no idea what I’m doing wrong: I have a Master’s Degree in Physics, for godsakes! I was awarded eleven thousand euros by the European Space Agency!

And yet, here I am: twenty-six years old, not an interview after two and a half months of searching for work, living at my parents’ house with debts piling up, applying for literally any position for which I am qualified, and even considering re-closeting myself in order to bolster my employment prospects. Is it vain of me to be dissatisfied by this situation?

I face the looming prospect of not being able to pay to refill my hormone prescription; that alone terrifies me.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Loss of Dignity

  1. mckarlie says:

    I had a friend with a degree in engineering who had to do manual labour for a year and a half because there simply weren’t any jobs that met his skills. Is there a chance of getting a suitable position if you move? It seems like a field that would be limited geographically.

    Sometimes it just takes patience, i understand how hopeless it must feel for you at the moment but eventually something WILL come along. Just be as open as you can and to be cliche, think outside the box. I hope something comes along soon 🙂

  2. Lindsay says:

    I’m so sorry this is happening to you! And no, I have no idea why it’s happening. My own experience suggests that getting hired in the sciences depends a lot on one’s social connections, as well as, of course, blind luck. (Also what mckarlie says above about being able to move.)

    And you’re not vain at all. It’s not like you’re asking for a gold-plated mansion on the moon; you just want to be self-supporting!

  3. Pingback: Quotebag #103 | In defense of anagorism

Leave a Reply

