The Joy of Editing

It has, unfortunately, been a while since my last update; I attribute this to the fact that the last two weeks of the SSP were incredibly busy for me.

As I mentioned earlier, I was editor-in-chief of what was, effectively, a book on Space Weather. Those who had worked in a similar capacity in previous years had warned me that this was the second most stressful thing that they had ever done (right after completing their dissertations); personally, however, I would honestly say that it didn’t even place my top-ten list*. Indeed, not only did I find the work to be relatively simple, I would even say that it was downright fun. There’s something beautiful about taking the hopelessly over-detailed, syntactically-awkward, jargon-laced scribblings** of a bunch of scientists, engineers, soldiers and businessmen and reshaping them into something with actual readability and proper narrative flow. A lot like sculpture in fact, except that I was actually good at it.

This is how all such tasks should be approached, in my opinion; if you see it as hopeless busy work, then of course you are going to be miserable doing it. If, on the other hand, you think of it as being an art-form, then it can become a means of self-expression.

_________________________________________

*I suspect that, after having written a Master’s Thesis in Theoretical Physics for a supervisor who was vocally dismissive of the value of my research whilst transitioning to a female gender presentation and living in a Bachelor’s Suite with my ex-girlfriend for nine-months after having broken up with her, I may have actually managed to max-out my capacity to feel stress.

**Not that everyone was guilty of this; just most of them.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

