In Which I am Crowned Goddess of the Nerds

This past evening, I was attending a guest lecture by the Director of the NASA Ames Research Center. He was talking about the prospects for life in the Universe, including the spread of synthetic biology originating on Earth when he posted the following photograph:

“Now then,” he asked. “Can anyone tell me what this is?”

Only my hand went up.

“Species…?” he began.

8472!” I finished.

“Oh good.” He replied. “This is when the true nerds come out.”

He then launched into a lecture about the prospects of genetically engineering biomass in order to grow spacecraft organically, which Species 8472 is famous for*. But I would like to focus upon the fact that the Director of the NASA Ames Research Center just called me a nerd.

Think about that for a minute.

_________________________________

*And which, amazingly, has apparently been seriously investigated by NASA.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics, Personal Stuff, Physics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Which I am Crowned Goddess of the Nerds

  1. I’m not a Trekkie, so I’m both sad I didn’t know about Species 8472 and excited to read about it. So awesome.

    Goddess of the Nerds has a nice ring to it. You wear it well!

Leave a Reply

