My Favourite Places In Europe

I have been in Europe for five weeks now. So far, my favourite places to visit have been:

  • The Crypt of the Emperors in Speyer, Germany
  • The Convent of Sainte Odile in Alsace, France
  • The Pagan Wall in Alsace, France
  • An old solar observatory on top of a mountain in the Black Forest, Germany.

In other words all of my favourite sites have either been remote, centred around people who have been dead for centuries, or both.

Basically what I’m saying is that I don’t really think I’m much of a “people person.”

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Favourite Places In Europe

  1. bolanja says:

    I knew you’d like my place! šŸ™‚ I used to visit a friend in Speyer. It’s a lovely little town with an impressive cathedral. Did you have a walk through the old town? Did you eat frozen Yoghurt at the ice parlour close to the cathedral? Did you go down to see river Rhine?

    • I did indeed see the Cathedral; and a wonderful work of Romanesque architecture it was!
      And yes, I did visit the old town; or at least the ruins of a twelfth-century synagogue, which I assume must have been in the old part of town. Didn’t have time to eat frozen yoghurt though, and I have seen plenty of the Rhine from Strasbourg (indeed, I walked to Germany two days ago, which is something that I never thought I’d be able to say).

  2. bolanja says:

    Lol. I _always_ see the Rhine when I’m close-bye. It looks so different at different points of its journey to the ocean. Here in Koblenz it has to pass between a narrow valley. There a castle on small mountain tops on both sides. At the Deutsches Eck “German corner” the huge statue of Kaiser Wilhelm I on horseback overseas the meeting of Rhine and Mosel. A bit down the stream, there is an island with an entire village, Niederwerth, in the middle of the river. Then at Bonn, the Rhine seems to have more space again.

  3. Just ended up on a wikipedia page about Holy Roman Emperors. Just gotta say, I love anyone who has the audacity to make an anti-pope, way to go Henry IV. Also the peace treaty between the pope and the emperor was called the Concordant of Worms, which would be a great name for a metal band.

Leave a Reply

