The Only Criterion That Will Decide My Vote

There are still two long years to go until Canada’s next scheduled federal election. But already I know who I will vote for:

I will vote for whichever party I consider most likely to roll-back most of the bullshit that Stephen Harper has inflicted upon the country over these past few years.

This for me is the only relevant criterion.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Only Criterion That Will Decide My Vote

  1. ChrisCQC says:

    Or least likely to do more of the same?

    That maddening smell of the Lesser Of Two Evils.
    (Sorry; I’m from the States, and I’ve spent the entire semester wishing I could possess Obama with the soul of Lyndon B. Johnson so that stuff would actually get done.)

  2. E A M Harris says:

    I think that voters are more often faced with the lesser of two evils than a choice between goods.

    • Yes, well, it looks like I will need to pick between (a) the NDP, lead by a man who seems just as authoritarian as Harper, but more likely to do things with which I agree, (b) the Liberals, lead a man with a famous name and a cute face but no real experience, and who hasn’t really done anything I’ve supported since becoming leader of his party, and (c) the Greens, lead by a woman who is competent and whose heart is in the right place, but burdened by a bunch of very silly policies.

      • n8chz says:

        Green politics everywhere seems to have a “new agey” aura about it.

      • E A M Harris says:

        Sounds like the usual kind of choice – we have the same sort of thing in the UK. There’s a lot to be said for the Swiss system which makes more use of the referendum so one doesn’t have to vote for a collection of policies some of which one might hate.

Leave a Reply

