Wet and Wild

I really, really want to go swimming. I haven’t been since August, and it is one of my few great pleasures.

However: I simply don’t see how I can do so. I mean: how would I change my clothes? Using the women’s change-room would be a nightmare for me, even if I were to duck into a bathroom stall and do my changing there. The fact of the matter is I don’t look like a cis woman; I have been harassed even for using public washrooms* in the past, and change-rooms seem that they’re right out. And I can’t use the men’s change-room because (1) it would be ungendering, and (2) even if I were to pretend to be a cis-man, that pretense would fail the moment I got shirtless.

But a life without swimming is not one that I care to live, so there must be some way around this. I can’t think of anything though and that thought is supremely depressing to me.

____________________________

*Of course, there are some people in this world who would probably applaud the fact that I was bullied to tears three weeks ago. To them, I can only say: “Go fuck yourself.”

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wet and Wild

  1. Kira says:

    The only idea I can come up with would be to put on your swimsuit before going to the pool. All you really need is shorts or a sarong, then you can avoid the changing room all together. Just be sure to have a dry towel to sit on for the trip home.

    • Timid Atheist says:

      That was exactly what I was about to post. I use to do that when I was little and would practically live at the pool. I’d just wear my one piece swim suit and a pair of shorts. I hope you can find some way to enjoy swimming. Good luck!

  2. Anon says:

    There are some swimming pools with mixed changing rooms; patrons must change in the cubicles, rather than outside them, but in the chaining room. You might want to ask your council if there are any public ones near you, otherwise check if any of the hotels’ pools are open to the public, and how their changing rooms work.

    Another option is to change in the wheelchair users toilets (assuming that it’s unisex and near the pool).

Leave a Reply

