The Dunning-Kruger Effect: A Practical Example

So I’m polishing-off my resumé just now, and I can’t help but notice something as I go through online samples.

Namely, when I say that “I’m bad with computers,” what I mean is that I don’t have a lot of experience with object-oriented programming.
When a lot of other people say that they’re “good with computers,” what they appear to mean is that they can operate a word processor.

This kind of puts my problems in perspective.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dunning-Kruger Effect: A Practical Example

  1. I wish I knew actual programming, too. I’m pretty good at deciphering URLs and figuring out how to navigate sites, but I wish I could code.

    And then there are people like my mom, who blames her GPS for her inability to intuit computer pathways (or drive around her neighborhood without getting lost).

  2. Bwahah! This is very true.

Leave a Reply

