My Superstition

I’m doomed for my Thesis Defense on Monday.

Of course, I always say this beforehand about everything, and not once have I ever actually been doomed, but the past is not a predictor of the future, and this time, I really am doomed.

Of course, I always say that this time I’m really doomed when called out on the fact that everytime I say that I’m doomed I turn out fine, but the past is not a reliable predictor of the future, and this time, I really am well and truly doomed.

Of course, I always say that I’m well and truly doomed when called out on the fact that every time I say I’m really doomed when called out on…

et cetera.

Basically, all of this is a round-about way of demonstrating my superstition to you. Whenever I have to do anything important, I say before hand that I am doomed, because I am literally worried that if I show any sign of hubris, fate itself will conspire to punish me with failure. I realize that this is a completely irrational belief to have*, but I can’t seem to shake it; because you see, whenever the opportunity comes around to shake it, I realize that whatever event is coming up is too important to risk breaking from tradition and taking pride in my abilities. Case in point, I don’t want Nemesis to show up during my thesis defense, so I’m going to keep telling everyone that I’m doomed.

So far, it’s what’s worked for me.

Of course, the past is not a reliable indicator of the future, so…

__________________________________________

*Well, maybe not completely irrational; overconfidence in one’s abilities has lead many people to ruin.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

