Based Upon My Own Direct Observations

Likelihood of students laughing at their professor's jokes by discipline. Note the overall trend while measured against the percived profitability of the discipline.

Likelihood of students laughing at their professor’s jokes by discipline. Note the overall trend while measured against the percieved profitability of the discipline.

Over the years, I’ve taken, taught, or audited a lot of university courses in a lot of different disciplines. This semester, I’m adding to this list by auditing first year courses in Economics and Computer Science; but I notice one very odd thing: students in these disciplines are significantly less likely to laugh at professor’s jokes.

So I decided I would make a plot of the estimated probability of students laughing at professors jokes across different types of course that I have taken; a clear pattern emerges.

Of course, you must take this with a grain of salt since (1) this is qualitative, even though the scale on the side might indicate otherwise and (2), I’ve taken/taught way more courses in Physics/Mathematics, History/Classics and Engineering than I have in any other field.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Based Upon My Own Direct Observations

  1. n8chz says:

    Maybe kabuki impairs irony?

Leave a Reply

