Well That’s Disappointing.

I had hoped to defend my thesis by the end last year, but that, as you know, did not turn-out. When I realized that I would need to register for a whole new semester in order to defend a thesis that was already basically done, I found a way to make lemonade out of lemons; I was going to register in a bunch of physics-unrelated undergraduate courses during that semester; things that interested me, or which I helped I would bolster my resumé, or which might tell me whether or not future studies were right for me. I had come to view this prospect as a sort of dessert; a reward for all of my hard work.

But apparently not. Now I find out that, as a Graduate student, I am not allowed to enroll in undergraduate courses. So in other words, I need to pay for half a year’s worth of registration in order to spend an hour defending, with nothing else to gain from it.

I am seriously pissed off right now; I feel like a prisoner. I am so sick of this thesis that even reading it makes me feel physically ill. And if I weren’t so god damn close to finishing, I swear to God that I would quit in disgust right now.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics, Physics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

