Transsexual Toy Fair*

Those who know me on a deep, interpersonal level know that I am cripplingly obsessed with action figures. That is to say, toys. This obsession started, obviously, when I was a child and has never really gone away or subsided. To this day, if I see an action figure that looks cool to me, and I have money on my person, I will purchase it. Indeed, one of my biggest single regrets about growing up is that I no longer have anyone around who is willing to play with me. Sometimes I still even have dreams that I am in a toy store filled with rare Star Trek: The Next Generation action figures**. I have long considered-it to be my sole indulgence of crass materialism.***

Anyways, bearing this fact in mind, it will doubtless come as little surprise that I attended my city’s biennial toy fair this afternoon. There I found a great many things worthy of purchase. I also found, somewhat to my surprise, a great many of my fellow transsexual people. Indeed, I encountered no less than four of them (assuming my trans-dar is in proper working order), both men and women, within two minutes of my arrival. Now, this being such a statistically-improbable likelihood, got me thinking: just what is it about a toy fair that would attract a lot of transsexual people? Or, more to the point, what is it about  transsexual people that would cause them to be drawn to a toy fair?

Now, of course, I can only speak from my own experience. Personally, I have long attributed my continuing love of action figures and other “childish things” to my asexuality. That is to say that I have noticed that most people move-on from the interests that they had as children when they are replaced, during puberty, by sexually-motivated ones. As this did not happen to me, it is unsurprising that I would retain them. I suppose, however, that even as I was spared the the sexual overtones of puberty, I was also (motivated by transgenderism) rejecting the particular genre of adulthood that puberty was enforcing upon me. Perhaps rejection of that adulthood also entailed, to some extent, holding-on to the things of childhood.

Or perhaps it’s more simple than that. I have long observed that transsexual people are overrepresented in so-called “geek-culture.” I have also noted that, upon the onset of puberty, I came to associate primarily with male outcasts–“nerds” as they are otherwise known. Perhaps this experience is not uncommon among transsexual people, and our interests naturally tend to reflect the influence of this peer group.

_____________________________________________

*Now here’s a post whose title is bound to get me a lot of spam messages.

**This is actually based upon a real-life experience that happened to me when I was about 9 years old. I went into a Wal-Mart outlet with my mother and found that the toy aisle was unaccountably filled with limited-edition Thomas Riker, Dixon Hill and Hugh figures; they were gone by the time I came back with my collected money, and I never had a satisfactory explanation for what the hell had just happened.

***Although, this has not been strictly true since I started transitioning. Turns out, it’s much easier to care about buying clothes when you actually want to wear them.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

