The Didactic Express, Final Analysis

Well, ladies, gentlemen and gender rebels, I have done it! For the past month, I have teased and tortured the events of each day, looking for some manner of  moral instruction or life lesson (no matter how tenuous) and posted the results up here, for the edification of you, my dear readers! How are you feeling? Are you better, more moral Human Beings now that I have granted you selective, heavily-annotated insights into my day-to-day life?

More to the point (since this is, of course, my blog), how has the project affected me? Has it caused me to lapse into existential despair and moral turpitude as I discover that there is no ethical order to the the structure of the universe? Is my next great blogging series  therefore to be entitled “My Self-Destructive Coke-Fuelled Rampage Across Western Canada?” Or have I elevated myself, through those teachable moments which Providence has alotted, to be a Better, More Moral Person?

Neither, as it turns out. The truth is that, even in looking for lessons in everything, I don’t feel that I have changed at all. It didn’t even get easier the longer that I did it; I had thought, when I started, that by the end of thirty days my brain would have reformatted itself to the point where I was effortlessly able to extract life-lessons (even inane ones) from the most mundane of events. But even at the very end, I had every bit as much trouble finding meaning in uneventful days as I did at the beginning. Though, I should note, in fairness, that there were some days, by contrast, when  the moral lessons practically wrote themselves. Perhaps that, then is the ultimate moral of the entire project: that teachable moments do not come in pretty, discrete little packages, but happen whenever they mean to.

If nothing else, I suppose that forcing myself to write an entry every single day was probably good for me.

Anyways, I was going to wrap up this post by providing a list of the lessons that I have learned which actually seemed like good or insightful life advice, but to my surprise, I found that virtually all of the lessons which weren’t deliberately trite or ridiculous met this criteria. I therefore encourage my readers to establish a religion based upon my teachings.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

