Too Many People (The Didactic Express, Day 27)

There are times, dear readers, when I simply must remove myself from the company of my fellow human beings. Such an occasion took place today.

For reasons that I need not dwell upon, it turns out that sharing a bachelor suite with one’s now ex-girlfriend, can, at times, pose certain challenges. One of those challenges having arisen this evening, I suddenly felt the need to betake myself to a cold, open field. By a happy coincidence, one such field can be found not twenty meters in front of my apartment.

My intention had been to lie spread-eagled in the field, staring into the night sky; I find that contemplating the enormity of the universe tends to have something of a calming effect on my psyche. Having assumed this position, however, I noted to my dismay that my view of the starlight was being washed-out by urban lightsources. As such I did not feel that I was contemplating the majesty of creation so much as gaze into a giant, blurry television.

The moral of the story is that:

It’s really hard to cut oneself off from Humanity.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Too Many People (The Didactic Express, Day 27)

Leave a Reply

