My Short Long Weekend (The Didactic Express, Day 25)

This Monday is Thanksgiving in Canada, so as a result I have a long weekend. Unfortunately, however, I also have a thesis due. So as a result I don’t have a long weekend because I needed to go to my office to do a full day of work and will probably need to do so again on Monday. Thus we see that long weekends, much like time in general, are relative to the specific conditions of the observer.

I think that all of this sustained work on theoretical physics is starting to get to me, honestly. I think that it’s warping my brain in much the same way that a stack of D3-branes warps ten dimensional Minkowski space, leaving a bizarre, cosmic geometry with a negative scalar curvature such that my thoughts keep returning, cyclically, to physics-based subjects.

For example, this evening I was playing Portal, and all that I could think was: “gee, I wonder what the differential line element for a discontinuous geometry like this would look like.” And then, of course, I realized that that was a meaningless question to ask in view of the fact that a discontinuous geometry wouldn’t be differentiable anyway.

The moral of the story, of course, is:

Never write a blog entry when you are really, really tired.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Physics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

