Provocative Dress

It has now been three weeks since the department secretary inquired to one of my co-workers about my manner of dress. As you may recall, he told her that, if she was curious, that she needed to come and ask me herself.

She has not done so. I assume that this must be cowardice on her part; I mean, if she’s asking co-workers, than surely she must be absolutely burning with curiosity, and if she hasn’t come to face me herself, it can only mean that it’s not a procedural concern.

So I’m trying a new strategy with her. Every few days, I am going to make a point of strolling casually past the door of her office, giving her just enough time to see me. Each time I do this, I am going to try upping the feminine presentation, just a little bit more. Eventually, I hope that she will be unable to restrain herself any further and just demand to know what’s going on.

In this fashion, I hope to break the tension.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Provocative Dress

  1. n8chz says:

    At least you know the identity of the concern-raiser. Management has generally taken an information-asymmetric approach to me. Academia, for all its faults, seems to have less-evil HR practices than about any other industry.

  2. I hope that if/when the conversation does happen, she doesn’t attack or judge you. Having that kind of hostility in a work environment isn’t good at all.

    • I’m sure she’s just curious. Although I will take a moment to remind her of our university’s human rights policy.

      • n8chz says:

        Hahaha when the bathroom issue came up with me in the wonderful American private sector it was me facing allegations of human rights abuses. I kid you not. But I still don’t envy the younger generation. The things student loans have done to you kids are a real human rights atrocity.

      • Thankfully, there’s a one-stall women’s washroom hust down the hall from me, and vanishingly few women to use it. The bathroom at least, should not be an issue.

Leave a Reply

