Out and About: The Didactic Express, Day 18

So as you may well have gathered from the previous handful of posts, I have become increasingly bold in terms of my gender expression. Facilitating this transition has been the fact that, for some reason, a local discount shoe retailer now sells not inconsiderable quantities of footwear in my size. It will no doubt come as little surprise that I generally have difficulty acquiring women’s shoes that fit me, so when I do find such things for sale, I generally react in the manner of a kid on Christmas morning, blowing far more money than I should on things which make my poor, broad, flat feet look passably feminine.

Ah, but alas, for even beauty is not without it’s price! You see, last week, I delighted in my acquisition of a pair of elegant lowpumps with one-inch heels. I waited with such anticipation to wear them out in public, and today that chance finally came. Unfortunately, as it turns out, there is a reason why so many women of feminist inclination complain so vociferously about female footwear, and this reason is that they are, quite simply, absolute murder on the feet! And this from a so-called practical shoe, no less!

What’s more, when arranging a haircut for myself today, I found that there was a price even to being gendered correctly; women’s haircuts, as it turns out, are considerably more expensive than their masculine counterparts. Now, of course, I would be delighted to point out that these two facts (the haircut and the shoes) both stand as stark examples of consumerism being used to enforce patriarchal notions of beauty; however, this is one of my ‘didactic express’ entries, so my aim is to provide a pithy, fortune-cookie-ish summation of morality based upon daily events. I shall therefore say only this:

Even the act of living your lifelong dream can have a downside.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out and About: The Didactic Express, Day 18

  1. Pingback: Sunday Link Encyclopedia and Self-Promotion « Clarissa's Blog

  2. Heh, yeah, girl clothes are more expensive–and they don’t last as long. A real D to the P moment. Sad but true.

Leave a Reply

