The Didactic Express, Day Whatever: Off the Rails

Do you like reading these posts? The ones that teach you moral lessons, I mean?

I certainly don’t like writing them. If I felt like wasting time blogging about every trivial day-to-day experience, I would have stuck with my livejournal, thank you very much. Ideas are what I care about; journal entries hold no interest for me.

And as it turns out, the entire project has proven to be a great deal less interesting than I was anticipating; if anything, indeed, it has only highlighted the futility of trying to shoehorn pithy little bits of fortune-cookie wisdom into random sequences of events. Only  very rarely, as it turns out, do experiences actually have any sort of moral order to them, and there is no reason to expect that such order, if indeed it does exist, should be neatly discretized to daily intervals. Is one day equal to one story? Of course not! Thus, you see, it was fundamentally flawed from the beginning. What’s left is a sort of ‘moral pareidolia”–a sort of Rorschach  test to find patterns in chaos.

Fie on it, I say! If you want to read insipidly boring moralizations of day-to-day experiences, may I recommend the Life of Theresa of Avila by Herself. If you want to read something that’s actually interesting, then I will try my best to accomodate you.

Which brings us to our final moral lesson:

If something is boring and pointless and you have no real reason for doing it, then by all means find something better to do with your time.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Didactic Express, Day Whatever: Off the Rails

  1. adrianaurelien says:

    Wasn’t the point of this to prove that not every story has a moral and it’s stupid to try and ake them that way? Success! Anyway, it was a cool idea and I chuckled at the name “didactic express” every time I saw it (this was one of those times when you were basically blogging my thoughts). However, an entire month of this probably would have become tedious, so now is as good a time as any to quit.

  2. zinemin says:

    I liked these posts. Not because of the moral lessons (although I thought that was a fun idea), but because they gave an insight into your daily life which I usually find more interesting than more theoretical posts, in any blog.
    I feel like I got to know you better thanks to them. Also it made you write more posts which I liked too, because I enjoy your writing.
    Btw, my favorite post of the series was the one where you were arguing with the hipster friend.

  3. I like reading them. But I like reading most of your posts anyways. 🙂

Leave a Reply

