Random Observation Time

I’ve noticed that when I am glazing over the details of a mathematical derivation, I will say “it can be shown that [such-and-such] is true” when I actually know off the top of my head how to prove such-and-such. On the other hand, when I don’t know how to show such-and-such off the top of my head, I will glaze it over with the much less suggestive phrase “It turns out that [such-and such] is true.”

I don’t do this consciously; it’s just how it turns out.

I really hope that no one on my thesis committee is reading this…

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Observation Time

  1. E A M Harris says:

    I think that a lot of people have different ways of saying the same thing under different circumstances. Most of us don’t notice them or analyse them. It’s interesting you’ve noticed yours in the realm of mathematics – perhaps it’s because you’re putting the symbolic system of language next to a different symbolic system.

Leave a Reply

