The Stupidest Argument Against Transgenderism

…is the same thing as the stupidest argument against anything else: ie, ‘it runs contrary to God’s plan.’ Someone ought to explain this to the hicks in this comments section.

To be perfectly honest, I’m rather unconcerned about God’s opinion on my life. Even if He exists, the rules set out in the Bible are so ridiculously contradictory that He basically strikes me as the celestial equivalent of Emperor Caligula; it seems quite impossible to remain on the good side of such a mercurial fellow.

I mean: I may be going to hell, but guess what, my self-righteous friend? I’m willing to bet money that you’ve probably, at some point in your life, worn clothes made of different fabrics, or gotten a tattooo, or eaten shellfish, or touched a pig’s skin (sorry Tim Tebow). So, bad as Hell may be, at least I will have the satisfaction of seeing the look on your face when you’re thrown right down there next to me. If I’m an abomination, than so are you. You don’t have the right to just pick and choose what chunks of the Bible apply to people. Either it all does or it’s completely arbitrary.

Neither, incidentally, should anyone be overly concerned with biblically-based arguments in support of transsexuality. Every time someone has to invoke religion to make a fundamentally secular point, I interpret this as a tacit admission that they are out of intellectual amunition. It’s past time that we started calling out this bullshit.

__________________________________

*They totally wouldn’t.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Stupidest Argument Against Transgenderism

  1. Bola says:

    Even if SHE exists! 😉

  2. Almulhida says:

    I’ve always wondered why God would create me like this and then forbid me the only means towards a happy life on pain of hell.

    (but of course free will!)

  3. Pingback: Of Intellectual Dishonesty | voxcorvegis

Leave a Reply

