Sally Ride Shirked Her Cookie-Baking, Baby-Making Duties By Living an Exciting Life

Sometimes, in the dark fringes of the Internet, I will encounter something of such unspeakable, singular stupidity that I will have no choice but to simply wave my hand and dismiss it as parody. And then there are times when I will keep reading, through the comments and other parts of the site and find, to my mounting horror, that the author is absolutely serious.

This is one of those times.

To summarize, the article (which comes from a blog called “The Thinking Housewife,” a name which frankly should in and of itself be setting-off all kinds of alarm bells) is about how Sally Ride’s lesbian lovelife proves that she was, in spite of being the first [American] woman in space, a failure as a woman:

For all the fanfare that once surrounded it, Ride’s story will likely fade into history and her life ultimately inspire very few girls. This will be so not only because women do not excel at space science or the physical demands of space travel as men do but also because, as Ride’s obituary proved, she did not lead a full life. Ride was in a lesbian relationship with a childhood friend for 27 years.

You’ve got to love the way that she just kind of casually throws around discredited sexist stereotypes about the inferiority of women in the sciences.

But, of course, she goes on:

The only good reason for a normal woman to go through the grueling rigors of becoming an astronaut is that NASA is a great place to meet men.  Ride’s life, however, does not even offer that slim hope to little girls, that wonderful compensation for dreary days in a control cabin. Ride flew into space but never experienced other thrills that are as great or far greater.

I’m sorry, you’re seriously arguing that wiping the shit off of a two-year-old’s bottom is a thrill greater than flying into motherfucking space atop tons of burning jet fuel? Really?

Also: the idea that women should only be interested in spaceflight out of a desire to bag a man sounds more like the plot of a Lois Lane comic from the 1950s than it does a serious attempt at sociology of gender.

But, it somehow gets even stupider:

The vast majority of women would sooner love an astronaut than be one[Citation Needed]. And given that most men are destined to perform inglorious jobs for most of their lives, women will come to see that the dream of conquering space rightly belongs to men.

So men are entitled to explore space alone, because otherwise, they woulkd wind-up relegated to “Inglorious jobs.” You mean, jobs that are actually less glorious than housewifery? Do these exist? It seems like we should be able to automate them by now.

At the risk of engaging in a little ad hominem argumentation against this sexist, homophobic, historically illiterate* little moron, I think it’s pretty clear what motivated this brainfart. Indeed, it reads quite a bit like the final few years of the comic strip For Better or For Worse. Namely, I suspect that the author secretly hates her life and is acting defensively against other, more successful women in an ultimately-doomed attempt  to convince herself and others that staying in a suburban home, crapping out babies for a 1950s-era salaryman is the absolute height of female achievement. Up is down, black is white, stop is go!

____________________________________

*The first woman in space? Really? Ah, but she’s a dirty communist foreigner, so she doesn’t count.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sally Ride Shirked Her Cookie-Baking, Baby-Making Duties By Living an Exciting Life

  1. zinemin says:

    Living as a tiger probably also does not count as a full life in the eyes of a fly. 🙂

    When I rule the world, thinking you have figured out the meaning of life and then preaching it to others as the sole worthwhile way of living gets you into jail for 5 weeks. Repeated offenses are punished more severely.

  2. “This will be so not only because women do not excel at space science or the physical demands of space travel as men do but also because, as Ride’s obituary proved, she did not lead a full life. Ride was in a lesbian relationship with a childhood friend for 27 years.”

    – Did an actual human being write this bunch of idiotic statements? I really want to believe that it was some sort of an internet bot that spews random garbage.

    It is especially cute to see people who condescend to those who led remarkable lives to compensate for their own miserable existences.

    “in an ultimately-doomed attempt to convince herself and others that staying in a suburban home, crapping out babies for a 1950s-era salaryman is the absolute height of female achievement”

    – I just love your writing. By the way, this is a really great new template. (New to me, I mean.) MUCH easier to read.

  3. Lindsay says:

    Aaw, I’m slightly depressed now.

  4. Pingback: Sunday Link Encyclopedia and Self-Promotion « Clarissa's Blog

  5. maitreyi1978 says:

    I go to this website regularly because it is so unbelievably awful in such a calm and well-written way that it blows my mind. I’d like to read more posts about it. Came here by a link from Clarissa. Great blog!

  6. “I’d like to read more posts about it. ”
    Unfortunately, that would necessitate my wading around in this murky cesspool and actually reading *more* of her empty-headed screeds. I would have difficulty doing this without spitting until I died of dehydration.

  7. H.E. ELLIS says:

    Holy crap. What do you want to bet that blog post you read was secretly penned by a man? I say this only because he/she pretty much quoted what my father spouted while I was growing up. I have a daughter and I wouldn’t give up raising her for anything, but that was my choice. My daughter wants to be an FBI agent and skip parenting all together. I say good on her and I support it, just as I would my sons.

    • Apparently the author is fairly well-known among connoisseurs of misogynistic stupidity, and yes, she is indeed a woman.
      As for your daughter becoming an FBI agent, I would suspect that if asked, the Thinking Housewife would tell you that defeating bad guys while wearing a cool suit is another one of those things which is somehow less of an adventure than having sex with a man.

      • H.E. ELLIS says:

        When my daughter gets old enough I will explain to her that this kind of outmoded thinking is counter-intuitive as far as sex with a man goes. It’s been my experience that well-educated, self-sufficient and financially independent women attract a better quality man to have sex with.

        Bigger picture, any man will have sex with a woman. A good man appreciates a woman who thinks for herself. And if he doesn’t, well I can always keep his equivalent in a drawer.

Leave a Reply

