Time For A Change?

I’ve been considering making a few changes to the layout of this blog.

Right now, it’s all just kind of…there. I have a single blog, with regular posts which may be on anything from theoretical physics, to Canadian politics, to consideration of gender issues, to reflections on my personal life, to works of fiction or poetry. There does not appear to be significant overlap between the followers of the various categories; indeed, I suspect that many people who subscribed to my blog because (for example) they liked one of my poems may be put off by my endless whinging about Stephen (Fucking) Harper, and vice versa. Now, my tagline is “The Stimulated Emission of a Human Mind,” and I mean this literally: in my view, what I am doing is taking-in information, processing it through my personality and experiences, and releasing the end product in the form of blog posts*, but does that necessarily mean that my thoughts on everything should be in the form of a giant grab bag? Should I break it up into multiple blogs on multiple subjects, and stick my posts into nice, tidy bins (with perhaps the occasional minor overlap)? How do you, the reader want it?

I’m also considering changing my background theme. I selected “From Dusk to Dawn” (the one I have right now) initially because it’s very beautiful, but I’m afraid, it does have some issues. First of all, it doesn’t have any links to my “About” page and commenting policy**, making it more difficult for new readers to figure-out what’s what in so far as I am concerned. Secondly, lately it seems to have broken down, such that in stead of putting my archives ten posts to a page, it just sticks them into one continuous list that becomes illegible after three or four iterations. Again, what do you think?

_______________________________________________

*I prefer to think of it as being like an atomic emission spectrum but yes, well spotted, that is essentially the way that your digestive system works too.

**I don’t actually have a formal commenting policy yet, but if I get another person sticking a bunch of links to ultra-right wing misogynist hate sites in their comment, then I’m going to draw one up pretty damn quickly.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Blogging Technicalities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time For A Change?

  1. I for one really enjoy the variety. I learn stuff. 🙂 I like learning stuff. 🙂

  2. Lindsay says:

    I’d read multiple blogs, since I like all that you have to say, but having it all in one place is sure convenient.

Leave a Reply

