Looks Like There’s Going To Be A Fight

This morning, we did the final inspection of the unit with the Landlady; she vowed to dispute our refusal to pay for her oven. The nice folks in the government have repeatedly informed me that, given the circumstances, we have little to worry about; and that, in fact, we can even make a fairly-strong counterclaim based upon her actions constituting harassment resulting in a loss of enjoyment of the suite.

I am therefore trying very hard not to be worried. But really, I’m just feeling sick; I’m feeling bone tired of talking about this problem, I want it to be done, and I want to be able to move on with my damn life. I’m exhausted of having to explain the details to everyone who asks, of fearing for some new legal scrap every time I open my inbox.  I’m sick of the goddamn introspection, the constant second-guessing (“should I have? Shouldn’t I have?”); I tried reading the post I wrote last night and it almost made me throw up.

I want to be able to focus upon something else, but my god-damn single track mind won’t change the damn tracks.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looks Like There’s Going To Be A Fight

  1. zinemin says:

    Get a lawyer and let him deal with everything….?
    It might be worth the money. Then she can argue with him and not with you. She’s clearly trying something criminal. If you had someone stealing your purse, you would also go to the police and not run after the thief yourself. And your advantage is that it is well known where she lives! A letter from a lawyer might be enough for her to back off.

    I had a very similar situation when I moved from my last flat. But given that I was moving abroad, and I was dealing with a company, I at some point just gave up.
    I’m now at peace with it but it bothered me for a long time, and I really wish I would have just hired a lawyer! Then it is his problem and you can think about other things again. 🙂

  2. Pingback: We Interupt Our Regularly-Scheduled Programming: An Inauspicious 200th Post « voxcorvegis

Leave a Reply

