A Letter to my Girlfriend’s Mother

[My girlfriend’s mother has, in the past, been blissfully ignorant concerning the details of my gender identity. This ignorance has lately been lifted, and as such, my Nominatissima may face rather severe consequences for her (lesbian) relationship with a “disgusting, self-mutilating freakshow*” such as myself. Nominatissima is off at the moment, presumably trying to smoothe things over. As such, I have no one to talk to about this subject at the moment, and fear that I risk having a meltdown if I don’t get it out of my system. As such, I’m afraid I’m going to inflict the sordid details of my personal life upon you, dear readers.]


Dear J_________.

Before you respond to anything, before you rush to judgement concerning your daughter or myself, I would like the chance to say a few things. First of all, it’s rather obvious that prior to about five hours ago, you thought quite highly of me. Unless I have very much missed my guess, you considered me to be brilliant, witty, eloquent, and generous. At the risk of engaging in a little bit of egotism,  you were well-grounded in all of these beliefs. You also believed (correctly) that I harbour no evil intentions towards either your daughter or yourself; you may recall that I have on multiple occasions rescued Nominatissima’s finances, her sanity, and indeed, your entire family life**.

Why then should your opinion of me be any different now? Not one of those qualities that I have listed, not a single one of those qualities that you liked so well in me, is in any way contigent upon my being a man. Is this detail (which I view as being, in actual fact, but a minor detail as measured against the full range of my character) enough to erase everything else that I am? Does the very fact that I consider myself to be female extinguish my intellect, suppress my humour, tie my tongue, suppress my generosity and mute the love that I have for your daughter? Does it, in short, relegate me to the level of Human garbage?

I should hope that it’s obvious that the answer is “no.” I remain the exact same person that I have always been. What is more, your daughter (whom I know that you love better than your life) remains the exact same person that she has always been.

The only thing that has changed is your perception; you have gone from believing a falsehood to knowing the truth. I hope that you have the wisdom and compassion to see it for what it is.

Yours truly,

Lady Corvex

______________________________________________

*That’s not a direct quote, I’m just trying to imagine what she’s going to say.

**Just who do you suppose wrote those letters of appology to your husband and stepson?

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Letter to my Girlfriend’s Mother

  1. Stay strong, both of you! And remember: when we are small, we need our parents more than they need us. But once we become adults, our parents need us a lot more than we need them.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Oh my gosh*! I’m so sorry you have to deal with this; a sudden reversal like this, where someone turns on a dime from thinking the world of you to holding you in vilest contempt, is brain- and heart-breaking even when it stems from something you did, much less something you just are.

    Your letter is eloquent and beautiful, though; that you can write to her still under the assumption that she’s a fair-minded person tells me that you are quite generous. And also humble, that you would deliver yourself rhetorically into her hands, who has given you so little reason to trust her.

    *It is on rare occasions vexing to me that I have no gods. If I did, I would call them down to aid you.

    • I have not yet sent this letter to her. Posting it here was an attempt to stave-off a panic attack; perhaps I should send it to her.
      EDIT: Actually, never mind, there’s no way she can read it right now.

      • Lindsay says:

        I had thought to leave an encouraging comment to the effect of, “her reading this can only work in your favor,” but then I realized you hadn’t said you were going to send it to her, and I did not wish to presume to tell you you should.

  3. Sending you sanity – I hope things work out, and I’m sorry you have to deal with this. It amazes me, how some parents can be so childlike and some kids so much more mature/responsible/etc. Good luck! (I know that’s not quite the right phrase, but it’ll have to do)

  4. Ezra says:

    I think this well help me alot thanks

Leave a Reply

