A New Word

Back when I was a student in Junior High, I created a word of such utility and such aesthetic pleasure that I incorporated it into my everyday speech. I recently, rather thoughtlessly, used it in a post I wrote on the subject of uselessness; this post has recently picked-up sharply in terms of popularity thanks to Clarissa linking it, and as a result a number of people (if my search terms index is to be believed*) are baffled by my use of it.

So allow me to clarify:

Hicklodyte (n):  A portmanteau of “hick” and “troglodyte.” Refers to a person who exhibits provincial, uncultured or uneducated manners or opinions while at the same time being willfully obtuse to any criticism of these positions, no matter how legitimate; An uncultured person living in ideological seclusion.

“I used to think that the GOP had a few legitimate points, but ever since Barack Obama was elected, the entire party has been taken over by a bunch of rabid hicklodytes.”

I probably wouldn’t have created this word today, as the use of the word ‘hick’ seems to imply that rural culture is inherently backwards, but what can I say? I was in Junior High and I, like most pimply-faced teenagers**, thought that I knew everything and was uninterested in opinions to the contrary. One might even say, I was being hicklodytic.

______________________________________________________

*A google search for this word, at the time of writing, will produce only my blog.

**I never actually had pimples, just to clear that up. Pun intended.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Word

  1. E A M Harris says:

    It’s a really good word. I hope it catches on and makes it into a dictionary. Then the rest of us can use it (I think I will anyway).

Leave a Reply

