The Unifying Thread of Fundamentalism

Via Jezebel, I have learned of a pastor in North Carolina who advocates demonstrating Christian Love(TM) and Family Values(TM) right on your queer child’s ass:

So your little son starts to act a little girlish when he is four years old and instead of squashing that like a cockroach and saying, “Man up, son, get that dress off you and get outside and dig a ditch, because that is what boys do.” You get out the camera, and you start taking pictures of Johnny acting like a female, and then you upload it to YouTube, and everybody laughs about it, and the next thing you know, this dude, this kid, is acting out childhood fantasies that should have been squashed…

Can I make it any clearer? Dads, the second you see your son dropping the limp wrist, you walk over there and crack that wrist. Man up. Give him a good punch. Ok? “You are not going to act like that. You were made by God to be a male and you are going to be a male.”

I’m not even going to bother discussing the extreme bigotry and advocacy of child abuse, because, frankly, that’s pretty much par for the course insofar as Fundamentalist nutters are concerned. Rather, I’m going to point out something which I feel has escaped discussion up to this point, namely that, in his violent defense of the gender binary, the good pastor appears to be implicitly admitting that the whole thing is completely arbitrary.

Think about it: if the gender roles had been ordained by God, and, indeed, encoded right into the nature of boys and girls (as any competent God really ought to have done), then surely it shouldn’t matter how a child is brought-up; if males are ordained by nature towards masculinity*, then what bloody difference would parenting (which is, of course, a social factor) make? May I conclude, selon the pastor, that if I dress my (hypothetical) son up as a pretty pink fairy princess and call him by some girly name that he will grow-up to be a transwoman?

This is one constant theme that I’ve noticed in all fundamentalist discourse; the shear force with which they advocate certain positions reflects nothing so much as their own insecurities; they don’t really believe what they claim, but they really wish that they did, and are trying to drown-out their doubts by shear bellicosity. If you have faith that the Biblical account of creation is literally true, then why would you care if the fossil record doesn’t support it? Why would you obsessively try to shoehorn the data into a biblical narrative? If you really believed that faith were superior to reason, why would you accept that reason’s standard of proof was the one that you should live up to?

Likewise if boys are naturally inclined to be masculine and girls are naturally inclined to be feminine, they why would you try to drill into their heads? Even if you accept (and some of them do) demonic posession, than surely an exorcism rather than a beating would be in order.

___________________________________________

*And when I say ‘masculinity,’ I pretty much mean ‘post-war American stereotypical masculinity’

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Politics, Skepticism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Unifying Thread of Fundamentalism

  1. I only have one question to ask: why is nobody investigating this freak of a pastor? He is calling for violence against a group of people. And a completely dependent, helpless group of people, too, children.

    Words fail me to describe how much I hate, hate, hate such vicious vile jerks.

    • Lindsay says:

      I keep wanting to know that, too.

      I say I “keep” wanting to know because there are apparently lots of pastors, and authors of books on childrearing, who urge people to commit violence against their children. I have no idea why none of these people is ever investigated, or charged with a crime, or anything — children have died at the hands of parents following their advice — although I suspect it has to do with two things about American culture: 1) our laws treat children more like property than people, and 2) we prize free speech so highly that we are very loath to consider any penalty for speech, even when that speech causes harm to people.

      (I share your hate, too — I am a very mellow person, but whenever I read a story about child abuse I shake with rage.)

Leave a Reply

