Dead Bunnies

Dead Bunnies

I thought it was sweet there were bunnies;
but now they’re deported
or gassed
And I thought you were wise on your website
but now that impression
has passed
I thought I was making a good deal;
two years in exchange
for a name
And I thought that each day would be different,
but instead they are mostly
the same.
I thought I would grow
I thought it would show
I thought that with time that I might come to know
The secrets of heaven, of light and of time
Based nothing on faith but in reason sublime
I thought I’d have facts,
But instead I have dreams;
I thought I voice thoughts
But instead I voice screams.

[I actually wrote this one shortly after my abortive experiment with astrophysics last year. I don’t particularly like it, because it seems so whiny, but it was an accurate summation of my mood at the time, and is presently as well. Indeed, this is one of the very few poems that I feel actually reflects anything of my emotional state, rather than just a bunch of concepts that I found interesting at the time. To clarify somewhat what’s going on here, my university was (at the time of my registration), internationally famous for it’s large population of feral rabbits on campus (“rabbits” is actually too dignified of a word–these were fluffy, soft bunnies of the kind that children buy in pet stores). But the administration (quite apart from the student population) considered them to be a nuisance to their ground-keeping policies and so had the lot of them exterminated (while lying about their fate to the student body). So it goes.]

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

