Umm…April Fool’s

So, as regular readers may well have guessed, that last post was actually an April Fool. Unfortunately, the joke seems to be on me, since none of my regular readers actually seem to have read it.

Just to clarify in the interests of scientific accuracy: there is no physical theory of consciousness, whether quantum mechanical or otherwise. In fairness, some scholars, notably Roger Penrose have speculated that consciousness may arise from quantum mechanical entanglement across the neurons of the brain; however, that theory is not generally accepted (as entangled particles in the brain tend to decohere long before they could contribute in any meaningful way to cognition). In any case, part of Penrose’s motivation for formulating this hypothesis was his rejection of the idea that consciousness is expressable as information, which really tends to blow my whole ‘argument’ back there out of the water. Moreover, while particles can indeed be entangled across the length and breadth of the universe, it is not remotely clear to me how that could possibly result in any sort of “cosmic consciousness.” Everything else that I mentioned is, as far as I am aware, the truth.

As for the existence or nonexistence of life after death, I’m afraid I don’t know about that one way or another, but I figure that l, like everyone else in the world, will be finding out sooner or later.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Physics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Umm…April Fool’s

  1. E A M Harris says:

    I agree with you that particles are probably not where to look for consciousness. My feeling is that the biochemistry and structure of the brain are probably where the answers lie – we just don’t yet know enough to find them.

Leave a Reply

