Things I’m Sick of Seeing

God knows, I don’t like Rob Ford, the current mayor of Toronto. Neither, from what I have heard of him, should I be particularly enamoured with Chris Christie, the current Governor of the state of New Jersey. But one thing that I absolutely fucking sick of, amongst my would-be political allies, is the constant obsessive need to take pot-shots at these men because of their weight. Take this recent article in Queerty decrying Mr. Christie’s (admittedly shameful) decision to veto a law allowing same-sex marriage in his state:

Chris Christie is pro-gay, y’all! Never mind that he vetoed a gay-marriage bill and believes, in his religious heart of hearts, that marriage is between one (portly) man and one (normal-sized) woman.

Now, I realize that Queerty tries to be “sassy” in its coverage of the news, but for goodness sake, the only joke here is “Haw! Haw! It’s funny cuz Chris Christie is fat, amirite?” With tack like that, I wonder why the author (a Mr. Evan Mulvihill) is busy hacking-out a living working for an online magazine when he could be penning cinematic masterpieces like Paul Blart: Mall Cop.

Yes, his policies are objectionable, but I feel that this dovetails nicely with what I just wrote about frenemies: attack his policies, not him.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I’m Sick of Seeing

  1. “With tack like that, I wonder why the author (a Mr. Evan Mulvihill) is busy hacking-out a living working for an online magazine when he could be penning cinematic masterpieces like Paul Blart: Mall Cop.”

    I notice it’s a common trait for people with that surname to think that they’re funny when they’re really just cringe-worthy and have no manners.

Leave a Reply

