That Was Easy

Last night, I had my much-feared talk with my parents. I was, honestly, expecting three hours of pained shouting, repetition of the same points over and over again, and having one or both sides break down in tears. It turned out I wasn’t giving my parents enough credit. In practice, the conversation only lasted about forty minutes, and I would say that fewer than ten were spent discussing the change in gender status (the rest were given to more interesting things, such as work, mom’s latest career plans, the extent to which I have furnished my apartment, and my thesis project*).

I suppose it was probably some combination of the fact that they already knew about my gender dysphoria a year in advance, their own emotional maturity, and the fact (if I do say so myself) that I am a very eloquent and persuasive writer when I need to be (you will recall that I wrote them a letter outlining the situation, and my decision to live as a female). But whatever it is, they seemed perfectly fine with it. My mother even expressed disbelief that anyone could even consider disowning their children for something so ‘trivial.’ My dad confessed that he was not overly familiar with what transgenderism actually was, and that most of his discomfort was based on unhelpful stereotypes filling in the gaps in his knowledge (thanks a lot, Hollywood**).

In any case, I am delighted to no longer have this sword of Damocles hanging over my head. I am now free, at last, to pursue the rest of my life as a woman, and I am greatly looking forward to doing so.

Goddamn, but do I have awesome parents.

________________________________

*Creating acoustic AdS-black hole analogues. Frigging badass.

**Actually, that’s not fair: Lana Wachowski (co-director of such notable chick flicks as V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin and the Matrix trilogy) is one of the examples that I cited to show that transwomen need not have stereotypically feminine interests

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics, Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That Was Easy

  1. Congratulations! That is amazing. You have awesome parents, and I think you must be pretty awesome too… I’m very happy that this worked out so well.

    (When I came out to my mother, there was a 3 hour excruciating conversation in which she told me that while she was fine with gay people, I was wrong… I wasn’t gay. I just hadn’t met the right boy yet.)

  2. Oh, how great!!! I’m so happy for you. It’s so great to know that there are good parents in the world and that now you will not have this hanging over you.

    Congratulations!

  3. Saia Sikira says:

    Congratulations 🙂
    and “*Creating acoustic AdS-black hole analogues. Frigging badass.” sounds just as great as the rest of the post!

  4. Pingback: How Many Times Must I Justify Myself? « voxcorvegis

Leave a Reply

