The Secret City

The Secret City

There are ever two cities-

(But I’m writing not of faith)

The first is the city

Everyone can know-

It can be found,

Without much difficulty,

On any given map,

And the little shops are always filled

With postcard pictures of it.

The second city-

The secret city-

Is rather hard to find.

It lies below-

in some direction-

And consists of every myth

and fable

that e’er children speak.

Here one might find

The secret rivers,

The cruel basements,

The cafés perched at the end of everything

And even that one high diving board

Off which a boy once flopped

And exploded upon hitting the water

(my sister swore it was true).

The first city is one you can enter and leave-

Into the second, you must be born,

But never can escape.

[I used to live in one city,  but I have now moved to another in order to pursue university. I have now lived in this city for almost a year and a half, and I have become intimately familiar with its geography. However, there is always more to a city than mere geography. A city is also characterized by its history, and to an even greater extent, by its legends. I could walk around the city in which I grew-up and tell you a story about almost every part of it; mostly ridiculous lies I heard during childhood, but when it comes to such things, the truth is relative. I could tell you, for example, about the statue whose toe you were supposed to rub for luck, or the underground river which caused everyone’s house to slowly sink into the ground, or the well-known fact that there’s a secret prison in the basement of my elementary school where bad kids are locked-up and then forgotten about. I could not do the same for the city in which I am living now, and I doubt I ever will be able to do so.]

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Secret City

  1. Superliked it !
    What an amazing story, i like these kind of new world : A MODEL PLACE WHERE PEOPLE WANT TO BE.
    REALLY AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

