Ancillary Moral to the Previous Post:

Upon reflection, I realize that there is another important life lesson to be drawn from yesterday’s (somewhat lengthy) account of my misadventure in astrophysics. Namely this: never use “brilliance” as the primary criteria in selecting your supervisor. Chances are, anyone who manages to become a tenured professor at an accredited university is already brilliant; if he feels the need to show it off, it probably just means that he’s a douchebag.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ancillary Moral to the Previous Post:

  1. Hear, hear! I almost made the mistake of choosing my advisor based on her incredible brilliance and unmatched productivity. I forgot to pay attention, though, to how she treated her grad students. I paid VERY dearly for that mistake.

  2. Indeed. That is a revelation for the ages… I actually ended up in the lab I’m in because I KNOW my advisor and I get along and work well together, regardless of how ‘brilliant’ he is (he IS brilliant, just to clarify).

Leave a Reply

