Yahoo! News Sucks

Primarily for legacy reasons, I still do my e-mail through yahoo. One of the consequences of this is that, every day when I log into check my messages, I am treated to a panoply of vacuous tabloid stories masquerading as journalism (Today’s top headline, for example: “Drop Crotch Skinny Jeans a Bad Trend”). The shame for this lies not with yahoo (which is, afterall, only an aggregator), but with the population at large, who presumably must demand this pablum above actual information about the world around them.

There is, however, no excuse whatsoever for bullshit like this:Image

\

You will notice, as I have subtley directed your attention to this fact, that none of the stories filed under “science” actually have anything to do with…you know…science. I suppose you could argue that the all take place in the real world, which is governed by scientific laws, but that seems to be pushing things a bit.

Clicking on one of the links, I found that the victim in the “gay honour killing” story was a physics student. I’m assuming that they’re treating “physics” as a sort of key word (may I presume then that every story in which someone is called “doctor” must be about medicine?); this apparently means that anything that ever happens to me from now on constitutes a science-related story.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yahoo! News Sucks

  1. Time to move to gmail? That’s pretty ridiculously bad….

  2. n8chz says:

    I get mostly real news on my Yahoo! account. Maybe it’s because I made French my default language there.

  3. Pingback: What Sorcery Is This? « voxcorvegis

Leave a Reply

