Unstable Configuration

Unstable Configuration

Place a pencil upon its point,

and pray it doesn’t fall;

Take a trip to old Jericho,

strike poses on its wall;

Build for yourself a pyramid,

but set it upside down,

Or point each atom facing-up,

in every part of town.

‘Tis but a short-lived spectacle,

But by Chance’s forced decree,

There are some things which never were

and are not meant to be!

(At the risk of tooting my own horn, I’m pretty pleased with how I managed to sneak a reference to statistical improbability in thermodynamics in amongst a bunch of more mundane gravitational references and mythological allegory. If there’s only one point I wanted to make with all of my poetry, it is that no idea, whether mundane, mythological, pop-cultural, or, especially, scientific, should be off-limits when it comes to imagery).

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unstable Configuration

  1. I really like this. It’s really fun to read. 🙂 And I don’t even like most poetry. Thanks for sharing it 🙂

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    That is a terminological exactitude!

Leave a Reply

