I, Troll

Perhaps it’s that I’m coming off a Holiday high, or maybe it’s that I’ve reached a rather boring phase in my thesis, but I seem, unfortunately, to have lapsed into a combative mood. In practice what this means is that I have taken to going to news websites and picking fights with egregiously stupid commenters–a practice colloquially referred to as ‘trolling’. It’s not healthy; it’s a complete waste of time (and, considering that I am presently ensnared in a rather boring stage of my thesis–writing LaTeX*summaries of my background research on AdS-CFT correspondence, I cannot afford the distraction).

Moreover, it tends to destroy my faith in the Human race altogether. Because you see, it turns out that there are  alot of egregiously-stupid people floating around comments threads. Take this Globe and Mail article about a mosque being vandalized in Montreal, for example. If you are feeling particularly masochistic, I invite you to visit the comments section and try counting the ones which aren’t apologetics for hate crimes or gleeful celebrations of violence against unpopular religious minorities.

I need to stop. I need to find some way to force myself to focus on what I should be doing and leaving these wankers to rot.  Any suggestions?

__________________________

*Yes, that horrible capitalization is the correct convention.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics, Personal Stuff, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I, Troll

  1. Your smart brain just needs a break. You’ll get back on track so don’t beat yourself up for trying to create a balance within the Human race.

Leave a Reply

