Resolutions for 2012

I have a fairly terrible track record when it comes to actually keeping my New Years resolutions. But it is considered customary to make them, on the grounds that, allegedly, we could all stand some measure of self-improvement, so here goes:

  1. I vow, from necessity, to live more frugally this year. This means that I will keep detailed track of all sources of income and expense; I will take advantage of every tax break and scholarship for which I qualify; I will eat out only once per month, cook a meat dish only one per week, and lay-off on the snackfood altogether. I will buy clothes only second hand, and buy no more than one book every two weeks. At the beginning of each week, I will withdraw a certain amount of money, and that has to be enough to last until the end of the week.
  2. Relatedly, I hope to earn at least one hundred dollars a week through tutoring, every week. In practice, this will probably necessitate advertising outside of high schools (something I have been loathe to do out of distaste for high school students, but money is money).
  3. I will engage in half an hour vigourous aerobic exercise each day (not including bike riding)
  4. I will see a psych(ologist/iatrist) about my anxiety issues.
  5. I will write at least 400 words every day. I will publish something that is not a scientific paper by the end of the year, come hell or high water.
  6. I will work eight hours a day (except on Weekends) nothing more and nothing less. I will complete my Master’s degree by the end of 2012, come hell or high water.
  7. Finally, I’m afraid that something must be done about my transgenderism. I’m loathe to put this on the list, as I can’t help but feel that, in doing so, I am in some sense commiting myself to action (and I am, as I have noted in the past, still very much afraid), but the fact of the matter is: I want to be female. And so, without setting any sort of definitive schedule for myself, it would be very nice if I could be living fulltime and transitioning by the end of the year.
About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolutions for 2012

  1. These are really great resolutions. I think they will work, too, because you have a detailed plan as to how to make them work. This made me realize that I need to remake my list of resolutions in a way that will discuss in detail how to achieve all of them.

  2. Your list is rather similar to mine, in form not so much as in content… not just “resolutions” but action plans as to how I’m going to make them happen, long term. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

