Alas, It Has Come To This…

A meme.

I do appologize for this; I used to be much bigger on filling-out memes back in the day, but lately I have all but ceased. Even so, I still like to make an annual tradition of doing the year-end ones, as it is an effective mnemonic for allowing me to categorize the events of the past twelve months.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
Published a paper, moved-in with my girlfriend, had a nervous breakdown*, and acknowlegded my transgenderism (with associated events such as openly buying and wearing women’s clothing, and going out in public as a female).

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Concerning the first part of the question, the answer is no. Last year, I vowed to impress my prospective supervisor in Astrophysics, and failed. I vowed to publish something of literary merit, and never even got around to submitting. I did, however, successfully manage to stop attacking “Idiots of the Week” on my old livejournal. As for the second part of the question, my future New Year’s resolutions will be the subject of a forthcoming post.

3. How will you be spending New Year’s Eve?
No bloody clue.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Not this year, I don’t think.

5. What countries did you visit?
The Grand Principality of Vancouver Island None (other than Canada, obviously). I’m surprised I didn’t even cross the border once this year.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
Peace of mind.

7. What date from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
January 20th, which has the dubious distinction of very likely being the absolute worst single day of my entire life.

8. What was your biggest achievement(s) of the year?
Probably the academic publication, although finally acknowledging the whole “trans” thing is probably significant too.

9. What was your biggest failure?
The whole Astrophysical fiasco.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Not as such, no. Indeed, I was barely even sick this year, at least physically.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
That very first pair of ladypants.

12. Where did most of your money go?
Rent and Grad School.

13. What song will always remind you of 2011?
I’m afraid I’m not terribly well-versed in popular music trends, and could scarcely name a single song released this year. Born that Way?

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Working.

15. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Pointlessly frittering away hours on the computer.

16. What was your favorite TV program?
Doctor Who, though I didn’t really watch a terrible lot of new television.

17. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hate? No. Bitterly resent? Yes.

18. What was the best book you read?
Good Omens, by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

19. What was your greatest musical discovery?
That pretty much any song to which I would want to listen can be found on youtube free of charge.

20. What was your favorite film of this year?
Hugo, certainly.

21. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was 24. I did the usual stuff I do on my birthday.

22. What kept you sane?
Unfortunately nothing*. But dropping Astrophysics restored me to sanity.

23. Who did you miss?
My family at home, and my best friend in the world.

24. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned.
It’s impossible for me to learn complicated ideas in advanced physical theory exclusively by reading a textbook while having to waste time slapping together weekly hour-long power point presentations to win the support of a self-obsessed piece of shit of a man.

25. What does 2012 hold for me?
A Master’s Degree, hopefully.

___________________________________________

*More on this later. Maybe.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alas, It Has Come To This…

  1. This is a cool meme! I will be borrowing it from you, if you don’t mind. 🙂

    Happy New Year!!!

  2. Pingback: End-of-Year Meme « Clarissa's Blog

  3. Pingback: A Little End of the Year Meme « nominatissima

Leave a Reply

