A Personal Observation

You know, for all of the fervour surrounding the subject… for all of the men whining piteously about how they should be able to pick up the women they desire because they are “nice guys”… for all of the women objecting that said men are not “nice guys” but “Nice Guys(TM)” who use their alleged ‘niceness’ as an excuse for not putting any effort into being attractive…for all of that, and more…I can’t help but notice that I have never met even a single actual woman who has claimed that she wants a “nice guy” of any species whatsoever. Indeed, I suspect that, were you to take a survey of heterosexual women of what qualities they find desirable in men, a general, ill-defined, nebulous sort of ‘niceness’ would probably not even place on the list. I have seen a great many women on television making this claim, but these characters tend to be poorly developed, and I suspect, are probably written by male writers.

So, is it possible that claims that women are ‘hypocrites’ and ‘liars’ for not wanting to date “Nice Guys” are not only sexist, but strawman arguments as well?

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff, Skepticism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Personal Observation

  1. Pingback: The Best of Voxcorvegis | voxcorvegis

  2. Lindsay says:

    Hmm, this is an interesting point. I’m actually not sure how it shakes out in my own experience, as I think I’d probably put “nice” on a list of Things a Prospective Romantic Partner (especially if male) Must Be, but such lists are pretty negotiable for me (see: the “Must Be Female” criterion) and I don’t know that you could describe *either* of the men with whom I’ve fallen in love as “nice.”

    But both of them were nice to me, and I have a hard time imagining myself being attracted to anyone who is *not* nice to me. I tend to think such people are assholes, and I do not find assholishness attractive.

Leave a Reply

