Quantum Diamonds

You just know that, as soon as word of this particular finding gets around, New Agers are going to go nuts. It has everything that they like: crystals; spooky action at a distance; the word ‘quantum’ liberally thrown around…

To be honest, in this regard, I find it kind of difficult to blame them. Of course, this sounds silly on my part- I know for a fact that quantum entanglement is not magic (you can’t even really transmit signals with it), but the problem is, there’s really no way to explain it to a non-physicist in such a way that it doesn’t sound like magic. I myself only understand it in a strictly mathematical sense (and only with four years of undergraduate-level mathematics under my belt); when it comes to questions of, you know, how it actually works in real life, I find myself rather at a loss. Previously, I have been able to kind of shunt these feeling aside, on the grounds that quantum effects are so far removed from the realm of actual experience that they can be thought of in as being somewhat hypothetical. But with their now being manifested in macroscopic objects at normal temperatures (albeit only over extremely short time periods), I feel I will need to face them head-on. Maybe there’s some alternative means of conceptualizing this…

 

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Physics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

