Most Children in Ontario are Stupid

…at least according to these imbeciles.

Responding to a new piece of anti-homophobic bullying legislation put forward by the Liberal government of that province, Mr. Rondo Thomas of some group calling itself  the Evangelical Association commented that “there is no time and place [in an eight-year-old’s mind]” for anything beyond “tying their shoes.” Undoubtedly, the delightfully-named Rondo is speaking from personal experience (I myself mastered the art of shoe-tying when I was but a scrawny lad of six, and I managed to do so while still learning how to read and write, but then again, I was a prodigy).

The opposition to this bill is being fronted by the Institute for Canadian Values*, a far-right coalition who most recently made headlines by perpetrating this thoroughly-disgusting “advertisement” against an unsuspecting public a few months ago. The group is presided-over by one Charles McVety, who (in a thoroughly-ridiculous display of wishful thinking**) considers himself to be the Jerry Falwell of Canada. Mr. McVety is a former televangelist, who had his show yanked off the air for spreading malicious lies about gay people in 2010, and it is therefore completely unsurprising that he would be in favour of homophobic bullying. Indeed, it frequently seems to me that homophobia and bullying are the very bricks and mortar of the entire edifice of contemporary fundamentalist Christianity.

But I digress.

I have little sympathy for arguments premised around the idea that a bigot’s right to spew bigotry is somehow on the same level as an oppressed person’s right not to be oppressed. And make no mistake- LGBT people are oppressed, particularly in schools. Moreover, if your religion really somehow prohibits you from behaving like a civilized human being towards your fellow citizens, then I submit that there is not something wrong with your fellow citizens, but something wrong with your religion.

__________________________________________________

* I’m guessing that they’re not talking about free healthcare, peace, and a Tim Horton’s on every block- i.e, those things which, you know, Canadians actually value.

**But then again, this is religion that we’re talking about.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Personal Stuff, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Most Children in Ontario are Stupid

  1. Pingback: The Best of Voxcorvegis | voxcorvegis

  2. Lindsay says:

    I was eleven or twelve when I learned to tie my shoes. But then, I might not have been able to tie my *shoes* at age eight, but I could probably tell you the story behind any constellation you cared to show me. (Gifted/Special Needs FTW!)

    I also did not know anything about sex, or that gay people existed, when I was eight. It would not be until high school that I learned 1) yes, lesbian, gay, and bisexual people exist and 2) I am one of them.

    Bet you can’t guess which thing I now consider it worse to be ignorant of …

Leave a Reply

