You Probably Need My Services

I’m pleased to announce that I have now exited the ranks of the unemployed and joined the burgeoning ranks of the under-employed! More particularly, I now have a job editing academic papers; my educational background allows me to edit both natural science and social science/humanities documents, so hopefully I will be able to earn a little spending money soon enough.

While this seems like an unglamourous job, I feel like I am actually performing a very important service to the academy, and, by extension, to the Human Race in general. I say this as someone who has spent untold hours of her life frowning over badly-written physics papers which somehow managed to make it into print. There are a lot of people (and I speak of scientists in particular) who are badly in need of a good editor. The trick now will be in convincing people that, yes, they are probably in need of my services, and yes, they will have to pay for them.

About thevenerablecorvex

I have the heart of a poet, the brain of a theoretical physicist, and the wingspan of an albatross. I am also notable for my humility.
This entry was posted in Academics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Probably Need My Services

  1. Lindsay says:

    Woohoo!

    (I totally agree, editing is super important! However, it is also a thing people seem to think they should get for free. Especially if they know you.)

    • Hi Lindsay,
      This is probably not the opportune mode to speak to you about this, but I can’t see how else to contact you.
      I’m looking for advice: I know that you have a(n undergraduate?) degree in Literature, and as you may recall from several months ago (http://voxcorvegis.wordpress.com/2013/07/13/am-i-being-stupid/), I’ve been seriously considering a move into that to study science fiction. I’m wondering, based on your own experience as both a scientist and a humanist, if you think that I would be better served by looking into some kind of physics/English “interdisciplinary Cultural Studies program,” or whether you think that I need to go all of the way back to undergrad in order to get a firm grasp on the basics.
      I hate to trouble you with this, but I would be grateful for any advice you could provide.

      • Lindsay says:

        I’m sorry I haven’t answered this yet! I’m kind of afraid to because I don’t know. What I know about post-graduate education could fill a teacup, as I haven’t undertaken any myself.

        I also haven’t had much formal instruction in lit crit — my classes were just “read the old books and talk about them”, not so much any theory of criticism!

        I guess I tentatively favor going back to undergrad, because that’s probably where basic literary criticism is taught (even though I wasn’t taught it …) and I’d be afraid that maybe the interdisciplinary program might expect you to already have that?

        I don’t know. The Humanities are vast! I would have as little to talk about with someone trained in the more theoretical sorts of criticism as I would with a particle physicist like you!

Leave a Reply

